left logo_right

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
left > Can't Make a Sound, Beginner requests help with playing with a reed seperator Options V right
Marji
post Jul 31 2007, 08:04 AM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 4,088

unsure.gif

I just purchased a very nice duduk (unfortunately before I found duduk.com :-( and though I have extensive experience with non-reed instruments (recorders and Native American Flutes) and a bit of experience with the flute (and thus an embouchure) I have *no* experience with a reed. I have downloaded and printed the instructions from Duduk.com but still find all intructions lacking on how to actually produce a sound with a reed. Can I, similar to with a flute, practice my reed technique with just the reed? Will blowing though just a reed make a sound or does it need to be connected to the (rest of the) duduk?

My duduk is a 3-part (curved upper windway), A-bass instrument with 6 holes on the front, one on the upper back and two on the bottom back. It is made from seasoned apricot by Karen Hakobyan. I'm fairly confident that it is a decent quality insturment but thus far have not been able to get it to make a sound—which I am *certain* is due to my inabilities with the reed(s). (3 reeds made for and tuned for this particular duduk) were included.

Any help for an rank beginner would be greatly appreciated.

TIA

Marji
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
El Catalan
post Jul 31 2007, 02:14 PM
Post #2

Member No.: 3,788

I took the reed by itself and placed it in my mouth, with the lips placed over my teeth
and gently "squeezing like" the reed itself while blowing with enough breath support
(like when singing) and enough air flow to get a solid note, like if you have an A duduk, then your reed should sound a solid C, and try not to bite or blow so hard that you stay sharp, he-he.