Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
left > What to do when the reed opens too much?! seperator Options V right
Flamenco Guy
post Nov 23 2008, 10:13 PM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 4,199

Hi guys, what a wonderful site... Thanks to everyone keeping it alive and giving this beautiful instrument and us the chance to explore, experience and learn....

I'm new to the world of Duduk, however not new to the world of music, singing and music production. I play many instruments including, soprano sax, and clarinet.

I got this "Souvenir" eBay Duduk thing few days ago, and it's been a struggle unsure.gif
however, one should never stop so till i decide to get a new reed or a duduck from duduk.com, i have this question.

How to control the reed when it opens too much? I tried many reeds and all tend to give me the same result... they open too much. Opening the reed was so easy, but how should one control or limit the opening?

Cheers

Beshar
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Duduk
post Nov 24 2008, 05:54 PM
Post #2

I have Lit My Candles
Group Icon

Group: Founder
Member No.: 2

Hello

can you please tell me How you opening the reed ??

--------------------
...: :...Powered by Apricot Juice ...: :...
+Quote Post
Flamenco Guy
post Nov 24 2008, 07:10 PM
Post #3

QUOTE(Duduk @ Nov 24 2008, 06:54 PM) *

Hello

can you please tell me How you opening the reed ??

Hi,

Either by putting some water inside, shake it and then blow the water out and put the closing cap on.then wait for 10 min. Or i blow some warm air while add some moist from my mouth! In either cases it opens fast and easy, but as soon as i try to play ... it is over .....

Does it have to do with the reed quality? Or my experience? All?

Cheers

Beshar
+Quote Post
hrimnir
post Nov 25 2008, 10:42 AM
Post #4

Advanced Member

Member No.: 4,186

Just a question. Do You have the briddle or loop to regulate the opening and pitch, on ??